State B.A.C. Limits
There are no products matching the selection.
Blood Alcohol Concentration Limits for Enforcement of Impaired Driving Laws -- U.S. States - 2001
On October 23, 2000, President Clinton signed legislation that will require each state to pass .08% blood alcohol concentration (BAC) as the presumptive level of intoxication for driving, or lose a portion of their federal highway funding. States have until October 1, 2003, to pass a .08% BAC “per se" law that would meet the provisions of an existing federal incentive grant or face the withholding of 2 percent of their federal highway construction funds, as part of the new .08% law. States that have not passed a .08% BAC law by October 1, 2004, will lose 4 percent of their federal highway construction funds. States without .08% BAC per se laws by October 1, 2005, will lose 6 percent of their federal highway construction funds, and on October 1, 2006, and each year thereafter, states without .08% BAC laws will lose 8 percent of their funds.
Note: Some states impose lower BAC limits for drivers under age 21 and/or under age 18.
Note: Limits shown are for "per se" enforcement of impaired driving laws. Most states prohibit driving while impaired, regardless of BAC limit.
|Blood Alcohol Limits|
|State||BAC Limit%||State||BAC Limit%|
|District of Columbia||0.08||Florida||0.08|
|New Jersey||0.08||New Mexico||0.08|
|New York||0.08||North Carolina||0.08|
|South Carolina||0.08||South Dakota||0.08|